Ends on

The Randall Kenan Prize for Black LGBTQ Fiction, in memory of the celebrated author Randall Kenan, honors Black LGBTQ writers of fiction. The award will go to a Black LGBTQ writer whose fiction explores themes of Black LGBTQ life, culture, and/or history. To be eligible, the winner of the prize must have published at least one book and show promise in continuing to produce groundbreaking work. The award includes a cash prize of $3,000.

In order to be considered for the award, the applicant must:

  • self-identify as LGBTQ and Black;
  • have written and published (self-published or traditionally published) at least one book of fiction that captures the depth and complexity of Black LGBTQ life, culture, and/or history;
  • be of demonstrated ability and show promise for continued growth; and
  • show meaningful engagement with LGBTQ literary communities.

Additional Information
The applicant's contributions to the LGBTQ literary field beyond their writings and publications will also be considered. For example: reviewing LGBTQ literature, conducting relevant research, participating in LGBTQ literary events, contributing to LGBTQ journals and reviews, membership in online LGBTQ literary forums, etc.
This award is made possible by founding sponsor Cedric Brown, Darnell Moore, and Dr. L. Lamar Wilson.

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.